Vending Machine Jealousies

2013-03-24-novelidea1   2013-03-24-tumblr_ljptghXina1qd9gmo

 

“Soft drinks, electronics, nutrient-free snacks – you can get all those from a vending machine. But what type of vending machine is sorely needed but doesn’t yet exist?”

Guess what? The vending machine of my dreams already exists! Unfortunately, it does not exist within a hundred mile radius of where I live…or 300 mile radius for that matter. In Geoghegan’s article, he describes the history of book vending machines and includes images of where they can be found – mostly in different European cities (thus adding another reason why I need to find an excuse to live abroad again). This summer I’ve been spending more money on my addiction than ever, as evidenced by my goodreads activity feed (as seen in at the bottom left of page). But more so, the idea that people can easily go and buy a top-selling paperback novel is just wonderful. Yes, I recognize that this vending machine would really just satisfy one niche audience. Yes, I recognize that my desire for this machine is purely selfish…but screw it. I want a book vending machine!

I could continue to rationalize how literacy would steadily improve and book sales would increase due to the availability of books at a lower cost. But no, I want this machine to help satisfy my addiction. I’ve been on vacation for nearly 3 weeks and I’ve already read 8 books and am reading more. I would happily wait in line to purchase a book from this vending machine or sit by the book slot to catch a whiff of a new crisp book. Can’t you just imagine the smell? Ugh…so good. I could see myself sitting on the floor by the machine, reading book, and then buying another in an endless cycle for the rest of the summer…happily supporting the economy, literacy, and my all-consuming addiction.

Want to read about other vending machines? Check out the inspiration.

2 thoughts on “Vending Machine Jealousies

  1. Pingback: Vending Wishes | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  2. Pingback: Vending Machine that dispenses ideas | Understanding and Embracing Diversity

Join the conversation...

