Book 1 of YA for Adults Book Challenge

Picture-506

Title: The Fault In Our Stars

Author: John Green

I’d like to start off by admitting something…I have already read a few of the books on this list. However, some I have read more recently than others. In order to better review these books, I will be re-reading books I haven’t read in a while…it’s only fair to both the books and myself.

I’m sure countless thousands of reviews have been written and shared over the Internet about this book in hundreds of different languages. It’s a phenomenon that has swept world-wide and has only grown with its upcoming film premiere this upcoming weekend (the U.S. release anyway). I read this book a few years ago as part of a YA book club that my friends had asked me to join. When I had read the synopsis, I muttered to myself “Ugh…a cancer book”. As soon as I met Hazel and read her thoughts on the subject matter – “Cancer books suck” – I knew I had found a kindred spirit. No I do not have cancer. I have had family members who have had cancer, one in remission and one passed. Yet, both family members were older when they learned of their illness. I don’t think I need to state the obvious in comparing a devastating illness in the elderly compared to someone barely out of their teens.

For this review I’d like to comment on where John Green got his inspiration for the title of this book – only because I have yet to read a commentary dedicated solely to the title. I’m sure you can read thousands of reviews about the countless “feels” you get from reading the story. Besides, I think we all agree this is a good book and deserves a chance to be read by all at least one time….Anyway, Green has been quoted in deriving his book’s title from a famous line in Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar

“The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars, but in ourselves, that we are underlings.” (I,ii,139-140)

[To me] In Shakespeare’s work, it is being said that fate is not to blame for what happens in our life – contrary to popular belief brought about by Shakespeare’s OWN work. No, we – humans – are to blame for our own faults and mistakes. It may seem that we are merciless against what the Fates have planned for us but that isn’t true…”we are underlings”. The Fates are busy worrying about more important things than us mere mortals. We must take care of our own problems. Let’s be honest, Caesar was sort of an ass. I’m not condoning murder, but you could see his “fate” coming a mile away.

Green, in an interesting twist, changes the famous words to read that “the fault is in our stars”. Living with illness, whether it’s cancer or otherwise, is not a fate I would wish upon anyone. Whether you are the patient or family member watching it happen…it just sucks all around. I feel that Green is making that point with is title. No one would consciously make the decision to become grievously ill or would actually want someone else to suffer through it. Hazel and Augustus have not even reached the “prime” of their lives. They’re children when they’re first diagnosed. Was it their fault? A mistake from a past life? Some consequence from the misbegotten youths of their parents? No. No. Definitely not. It was fate, it was written in their stars. They were doomed from the start. The title is just take on the age old saying, “Life isn’t fair”. We can’t control what families we’re born into or what obstacles we come into contact with, but we can control how we meet those challenges and we will be remembered (by those that know us) by how we dealt with those same obstacles. Here are some of my favorite quotes…I stress some because rewriting the book in its entirety would break copyright laws…

“You are so busy being you that you have no idea how utterly unprecedented you are.”

“I fell in love [with]the way you fall asleep; slowly, and then all at once.”

“It would be a privilege to have my heart broken by you.”

“Sometimes it seems the universe wants to be noticed.”

“Some infinities are bigger than other infinities.”

“How are the eyes? Oh excellent. I mean they’re not in my head is the only problem.”

“You gave me forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful.”

“You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world, old man, but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices. I hope she likes hers. I do.”

6a97bc6596df4faaa1fec4e7022bbfae

Here’s to hoping that the theatrical version won’t crush us with feels! On to the next book in my challenge 🙂

One thought on “Book 1 of YA for Adults Book Challenge

  1. I love your explanation of the title. Though I’d heard the quote before, I didn’t know where it came from — but John Green’s willingness to flip such a famous line on its head is lovely, especially in the context of this book. Thanks for sharing your review! 🙂

Join the conversation...

